October, 25, 2009 Martz & Ramsey Crowned Champions
On Saturday evening the Midwest TQ Racing League presented by Vincennes University held their Champions Banquet at the Pavilion at the Brickyard Crossing at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Tate Martz and Roger Ramsey were honored as the inaugural champions in a salute to “A New Era in Three Quarter Midget Racing.”
League founders Mark and Jennifer Frechette, along with Vincennes University representatives Dr. Helton and Dean Haase, recognized the top fifteen owners and drivers in a trophy cup presentation. The Frechette’s also presented Service Awards to Janet Smith, AJ ‘s Towing, Jay Parks, Jerry Frickman, Mark and Lora Widener, and Sandy Lowe.
Diane Poff, of Jackson Oil & Solvents, presented Tate Martz with a 55 gallon drum of racing fuel in recognition of his Duel for Fuel championship. In addition to the certificate Poff also presented Martz with an antique fuel pump replica.
Chris Guinn presented a $100 award for Best Appearing Car and Crew to Tim Lynch, and Steve Brown presented a set of pistons to Larry Teegarden as the Hard Luck Owner. A Clean Sweep award was also presented to Jason Willis in recognition of his clean sweep at the Jefferson County Fairgrounds on August 29th. On that night Willis set quick time, won the Duel for Fuel, his heat race and the feature.
An emotional point of the evening was when master of ceremonies Gary Lee presented the Larry Rice Spirit Award to Chris Guinn. Rice, a longtime friend and announcing partner of Lee’s, passed away earlier this year after battling lung cancer.
Top three drivers Martz, Willis and Kenny Byrge presented the Frechette’s with a signed helmet. Also, MTQRL flagman Steve Motz presented Martz with a checkered flag which was also signed by the MTQRL drivers and officials.
Hall of Fame driver Mel Kenyon was on hand to offer the invocation to begin the festivities. To close out the evening Hoosier Jewelry presented championship rings to Martz and Ramsey.
Elliottbrand Web Designs TQ Midget Racing Indiana