June, 16, 2012 Ronnie Combs Wins at Rushville
Greensburg’s Ronnie Combs held off a hard charging Brett Hankins and Tate Martz on Saturday night when the Midwest TQ Racing League presented by Jenmarco.com competed at the Rush County Fairgrounds in Rushville, Ind.
Combs, who came from his fourth starting position to overtake Bobby Walton on lap three, led the final twenty-three laps to score his first feature win of the year. Although he led the majority of the race, his road to the winners circle was not easy. After a caution for Caleb Faulkner on lap thirteen both Hankins and Martz applied heavy pressure but Combs did not falter, taking the win in the #50 Tony Stewart Racing/Acro Engineering/Peregrine Beast Honda three-quarter midget. Hankins finished in second place followed by Martz, Walton and Chris Mann. Chad Hankins, Cody Kiewitt, Jon Steed, Tristan Maggart and Jamie Ross rounded out the top ten.
In qualifications Hankins, for the third time in three races, set quick time with a lap of 12.500 seconds. Rick Robinson won the Jackson Oil & Solvents Duel for Fuel, 2011 Tony Stewart Racing Rookie of the Year Cody Kiewitt won the semi feature, and Perfect North Slopes heat winners were Hankins, Combs and Mann.
The Duane & Sonja Alexander Hard Luck Driver award went to Robinson who tangled with another car on the opening lap of the feature and flipped in turn three. Kiewitt, the Indy Race Parts Hard Charger, sliced through the field passing thirteen cars and Maggart, the highest finishing rookie driver, was named the Tony Stewart Racing Rookie of the Race and also won the drawing for the Jackson Oil & Solvents gift certificate.
The next race on the MTQRL schedule will be the Russ Hankins Memorial at the Rush County Fair on Thursday evening June 28th at the Rush County Fairgrounds in Rushville, Ind.
Elliottbrand Web Designs TQ Midget Racing Indiana